财务

自创办以来,《当今大马》秉持社会企业(Social Enterprise)精神,致力推展独立媒体。《当今大马》坚信,独立媒体必须拥有独立的财政支援,方能生存。我们的财务策略是把所得的盈利投入永续发展,而非回馈给股东。

在2008年至2012年的5年里,《当今大马》总收入达2070万令吉,即订阅40.6%、广告33.5%、计划资助18%、手机服务3.4%,以及其他收入4.5%。

上述5年的开销为1980万令吉,主要开支用于编采61.7%、行政16.4%、科技8.5%、行销6.9%,以及法律和其他成本6.5%。

易言之,《当今大马》5年共获86万令吉的盈余,平均每年17万2000令吉。

截至2010年,订阅收入向来是《当今大马》主要收入来源。不过,从2011年开始,广告收入已经超越订阅收入,并占总收入的50%,订阅收入则贡献40%。

一些支持者曾建议《当今大马》开放免费浏览,不征收订阅费。但是,《当今大马》并无法单靠广告收入为生;而且,媒体若愈来愈依赖广告商,将难以秉持独立报道,特别是一些触及广告商的课题。

此外,《当今大马》过去得到的计划资助,主要是用于一些特别计划,如培训公民记者、举行亚洲新媒体论坛、Komunitikini.com、Feedgeorge.com等社区网站、Undi.info选举讯息网站、以及其他在财务上难以自供自足的新闻资讯计划。

虽然被指接受外国资助,但是《当今大马》坚信,这些计划符合公共利益,理应获得奉行言论自由和独立媒体准则的基金之资助。

《当今大马》多数开支乃用于编采任务之上。目前本刊编采团队多达35人,包括各个语文的记者和编辑。

《当今大马》笃信,制作好新闻的关键在于拥有一支强大的编采团队,我们将继续扩展编采团队,以为读者带来更深入、具有影响力的新闻与论点。

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Finances

Since its inception, Malaysiakini has functioned as a social enterprise – a business which puts its mission to promote independent media first. It fervently believes that independent media cannot survive without independent financing. Its financial strategy aims to create profits to grow the organisation, instead of creating a return on investment for its shareholders.

For the five-year period of 2008-2012, Malaysiakini’s revenue totaled RM20.7 million, comprising subscription (40.6%), advertising (33.5%), project grants (18%), mobile services (3.4%) and other revenues (4.5%).

For the same period, expenditure totalled RM19.8 million being the editorial costs of (61.7%), administrative cost (16.4%), technology costs (8.5%), marketing (6.9%) and legal and other costs (6.5%).

The balance RM860,000 form retained earnings in the company, an average of RM172,000 per year.

Subscriptions have contributed more than advertising for every year up to 2010. From 2011, advertising income has surpassed subscription and is expected to contribute about 50% of total income with subscription contributing about 40% of income.

Some have suggested that Malaysiakini should go free and not charge a subscription fee. But advertising alone cannot fully fund Malaysiakini. Moreover, Malaysiakini would become more reliant on advertisers, and would find it significantly difficult to keep reporting independently, especially on issues that could affect its advertisers.

In the past, project grants have contributed towards side projects such as training of citizen journalists, hosting of the Asian New Media Forum, community portals such as Komunitikini.com, Feedgeorge.com, election information such as Undi.info and other products that are journalistic in nature, but not financially sustainable on its own.

Although Malaysiakini has been attacked for receiving funding from foreign donors, Malaysiakini believes that these projects serve the larger public good, and therefore can and should be funded through grants from foundations committed to freedom of expression and independent media.

In terms of expenditure, the bulk (62%) goes to editorial costs. Malaysiakini’s editorial team stands at 35, composing journalists and editors in the various language teams. Malaysiakini believes that a strong editorial team is a key ingredient of good journalism and will remain committed to investing the bulk of its expenditure into its editorial workforce.